Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Weight loss...

I've been overweight pretty much all my life...not just a few pounds, severely overweight. I've lost some significant weight in the past, but I gained it all back PLUS during my pregnancies and even more after. You'd think that I'd have been fed up with it a long time ago, and you'd be right. I've tried different diets...they all work for a while, it's the sticking with it part where I fail.

On Saturday, we started a new month, and hopefully I'll be able to say it was the beginning of a new, healthier life for me. I've done very well on the Adkins diet, but truly, it's very difficult to live on such a diet in "the real world". It's easy when you have the time and energy to plan shopping trips and meals...enough to take food to work all the time, but it's not practical in my world.

So, what else is there? Of course going it alone is fine, I need to be accountable to someone at this point in my life. I've gotten too lazy and too accustomed to being fat. That all said, I have decided to rejoin Weight Watchers (WW). I did WW for about a month or so after I had Trace, but then found I was pregnant and they just don't allow pregnant women to go to their meetings...so I dropped it, and of course gained way more weight than anybody needs to gain during pregnancy.

Now that I decided this, the question is, do I want to spend the cash to go to the meetings? Like I said earlier, I need to be held accountable. Cash out of my hands is a good motivator to get my $'s worth out of the program. I informed dh last night that I would be going to meetings...that I would be late coming home this evening, as I was gonna start back on the program.

Oh, and to explain what I started on Saturday...I basically started a food diary, much like what they teach you to do in WW. The way I am looking at it, I wouldn't want anybody to see this diary and say...."WTF, NO WONDER THAT B*TCH IS SO FAT, LOOK AT WHAT SHE EATS!" If I continued to eat what I normally would grab in the drive thru, I would be so digusted with myself! Seeing what you eat on paper really does help. So, for the last 5 days, I have been eating more normal portions and healthier choices. Of course not everything is the best thing for me, it's definitely a start.

Tonight I'll sign up and get weighed in for the first time. Very daunting task, but it must be done. From there, it will still be a challenge, but the reward of a new life will definitely be worth it!

I will definitely keep up the blog, probably on a weekly basis...following weigh ins (WI) of course.

No comments:

Post a Comment