Tuesday, February 23, 2010

My Pink Stamper

I know I haven't posted in FOREVER, but I want to just share how much I <3 Robyn aka The Pink Stamper! I have been following her blog for awhile now and I'm beyond grateful for her and the other very talented folks who share their crafts and talent with the rest of us! My kids completely enjoy watching Robyn's videos of the "paper cutter" (Cricut) with me! Now I only wish I had the time or energy to create like Robyn does!

If you are a scrapbook or card maker, you should definitely take a look at her blog. Not only is the stuff she creates amazing, she also has FANTASTIC sponsors who donate really cool blog giveaways!




My Pink Stamper

Friday, November 20, 2009

So much for updating regularly....

So yeah, I've been going to weigh in at WW every week. So far, I've lost a total of 39.2lbs. I'm pretty happy about it, but of course would love to have that be a larger amount lost. Baby steps I suppose.

Anyway, I'm hoping to keep going with the weight loss, but also start blogging about crafting as well. I would REALLY love to win a Gypsy, made by the same folks that have the Cricut.

For all things Cricut or Gypsy related, I totally recommend joining the Cricut Messageboards. On there, soooo many people share their creations. It's very inspiring! Even though I don't post regularly on the mb, I do try to hit different people's blogs to see different styles. I'm also trying to decide about the Gypsy thing, and do try to see how others are liking it. If you'd like, go to the Gypsy Spot Blog http://the-gypsyspot.blogspot.com/ Nilda is a great crafter!

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Weight loss...

I've been overweight pretty much all my life...not just a few pounds, severely overweight. I've lost some significant weight in the past, but I gained it all back PLUS during my pregnancies and even more after. You'd think that I'd have been fed up with it a long time ago, and you'd be right. I've tried different diets...they all work for a while, it's the sticking with it part where I fail.

On Saturday, we started a new month, and hopefully I'll be able to say it was the beginning of a new, healthier life for me. I've done very well on the Adkins diet, but truly, it's very difficult to live on such a diet in "the real world". It's easy when you have the time and energy to plan shopping trips and meals...enough to take food to work all the time, but it's not practical in my world.

So, what else is there? Of course going it alone is fine, I need to be accountable to someone at this point in my life. I've gotten too lazy and too accustomed to being fat. That all said, I have decided to rejoin Weight Watchers (WW). I did WW for about a month or so after I had Trace, but then found I was pregnant and they just don't allow pregnant women to go to their meetings...so I dropped it, and of course gained way more weight than anybody needs to gain during pregnancy.

Now that I decided this, the question is, do I want to spend the cash to go to the meetings? Like I said earlier, I need to be held accountable. Cash out of my hands is a good motivator to get my $'s worth out of the program. I informed dh last night that I would be going to meetings...that I would be late coming home this evening, as I was gonna start back on the program.

Oh, and to explain what I started on Saturday...I basically started a food diary, much like what they teach you to do in WW. The way I am looking at it, I wouldn't want anybody to see this diary and say...."WTF, NO WONDER THAT B*TCH IS SO FAT, LOOK AT WHAT SHE EATS!" If I continued to eat what I normally would grab in the drive thru, I would be so digusted with myself! Seeing what you eat on paper really does help. So, for the last 5 days, I have been eating more normal portions and healthier choices. Of course not everything is the best thing for me, it's definitely a start.

Tonight I'll sign up and get weighed in for the first time. Very daunting task, but it must be done. From there, it will still be a challenge, but the reward of a new life will definitely be worth it!

I will definitely keep up the blog, probably on a weekly basis...following weigh ins (WI) of course.

Monday, July 20, 2009

So yeah...

Yeah, haven't posted since Feb. Want to take a guess at why? CAUSE I'M FREAKIN BUSY & TIRED! So this month so far, I've actually had TWO days off, yes, count them...2 whole days off! It's a miracle! Ok, not really. The 4th of July wasn't too bad, but was a reminder at how that holiday usually sucks for us....dating back to '05. While I can't really recall what was SOOO bad about them the years in between, I don't recall them being just spectacular either. July 4, 2005 was the day of my miscarriage at about 9 weeks, and the first and last time I'll voluntarily step foot into the hospital in Seguin for any medical procedure. Yeah, not fun.

This year, I guess wasn't SO bad, but the 4 yr old was sick and just lethargic. He was feverish and all he wanted to do was sleep on me for most of the day. I did make a rockin' chocolate pie, so that was good. We made it back to watch the fireworks, however since we hadn't ever been to this city's show before, we didn't know of any "hot" places to sit. So we sat in the library's parking lot. Decent view, but not the best. My 10 yr old sister who was with us was pissed and cranky. Blah on her. My kids loved it and didn't care.

I was off again this past Sat so we took the boys to see Ice Age. We did the whole popcorn, candy, soda thing...probably not the best idea. The 4 yr old seems to pay attention and enjoyed the movie, while the 3 yr old bounced around, from one seat to the next, from my lap to hubby's lap and everywhere in between. He finally sat still nearing the end of the movie....and proceeded to fall asleep. Great use of $6. Oh well.

Par for the course, something uncool had to happen on a day off, and sure enough, I start cramping and feeling like crap overall. I ended up sleeping most of the rest of the day, getting zero accomplished. Great.

On the job front news...the library will be closed most of the month of Aug, which is great news for me. I'll have Sundays off from the library. The downside is, my full time job is picking up in business and will most likely require me to work on Sundays...in Aug. Blah. I did have a job interview over the phone last week that I hopefully will hear back from soon. I was painfully honest when it came to my "weaknesses", but really, I felt no need to BS my way into a job. If I were the interviewer, I'd appreciate the candidness and honesty. We shall see.

Hmmm, what else. Yep, my house is still a disaster....cause well, I'm not there with enough energy that often to change it.

I did run into a friend today and have decided to talk with hubby to see if he'll support me joining the gym. While we have talked about it before, I think I am finally ready to make that change in my life, to take that step again towards better health. I am really hoping to go on a cruise next year with my sister, as we will both celebrate "milestone" birthdays, with her turning 25 and me 30. Eeek! Also, I am contemplating on whether or not I want another baby...cause I'm not getting any younger! Sooo, getting back into a shape other than round is definitely a must if I want to get pregnant again anytime soon.

Well, I guess that's all I feel like sharing for now.....peace out!

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Worn out

I don't post as often as I'd like, but really, my life is fairly boring. I spend most of my time at work, be it my full time job or the part-time one at the local library. This month so far, I've had one day off from either job, and it's looking as if that one day will be my only day off the entire month. I didn't even get any time that day to myself, it was spent with the family at the stock show in San Antonio. I am getting to the point of being completely worn out. I'm not saying that either of my jobs are that stressful or that they are that demanding. That's hardly the case. But, they do take quite a bit of my time. By the time I get home, I am cranky, I don't want to cook and I get short with the kids. It's not becoming. I hate being like this. Eric says to just quit the part-time job, but I do like it. I like having co-workers that I see, co-workers that I interact with and have friendships with (even if I do only see them at work). I like the nice patrons that I encounter.

It's just the time being away from home, the time being away from my family and the lack of time I have for myself-it's wearing me out! It's sad that last night, I had a night to myself, a night to do whatever I wanted, a night to catch up on some stuff I needed to do. What did I actually accomplish? I entered some info into my tax refund thingie online, I ordered a pizza, ate some, and went to bed. Wow, what a life.

Today, I am at work again, always have to be early when I am working on a Saturday, because I have to charge for my service. Today makes 14th consecutive day of work. I know I shouldn't complain, I chose these jobs, and I AM grateful for them considering the alternative. However, I can't continue like this for much longer.

Thursday, February 5, 2009

Giving it a whirl!

So yeah, I follow several peoples blogs, some of people I know personally, some not at all. I find blogs very interesting, as you can gain a deeper understanding of where other people are coming from. Sometimes it's very refreshing to find others who feel as you do, some blogs, of course, make no sense at all and end up being like a car wreck on the highway....something that you just can't help but look at. I have to throw it out here in the beginning to anybody who may read this...I am not a writer, never have been, never will be. This is just something that catches my fancy at the moment, and when I update, it will just be random things I think of, or that my kids have done, or a great deal I got shopping. Whatever it is I think to blog about, it won't be grammatically correct or anything of the short I'm sure. I will at least try to make sure the spelling is correct, as that is a major annoyance of mine.

Today I really have nothing to share, just that it's the day I work my part-time job, and I don't look forward to it. I took the job last year, as I saw where gas prices and the economy were going. The extra cash really helped with covering bills...not to mention the job gave me coworkers that I can actually interact with, as my full time job only allows me the opportunity to visit with coworkers (and my boss) about once a month.

Anyway...here it is...a blog by me!